The accelerator initiative of the Helmholtz Association

The Helmholtz Association is in charge of 18 Helmholtz Centres that work on a wide range of topics, including astrophysics, accelerators, biology, cell research, physics, and so on. Almost 34,000 staff use the most modern scientific infrastructure, including, in particular, large-scale facilities and instrumentation, which are also open to use by members of the international scientific community. Working on behalf of the state, Helmholtz scientists pursue an ambitious goal: To make an essential contribution to solving the grand challenges which society faces.

In 2011 the Helmholtz society has started a so-called accelerator initiative (ARD), that should promote accelerators as motors for discovery and innovation. As part of this initiative, dedicated funding for accelerator R&D has been allocated. The following Helmholtz institutes are members of the accelerator initiative: 

1) Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)
2) Forschungszentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)
3) Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ)
4) Helmholtz Zentrum für Schwerionenforschung (GSI)
5) Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
6) Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB) 


The research areas covered by the accelerator initiative have been defined as sub-topics 1 to 4:


ST1 - Superconducting RF technology
ST2 - Concepts & technology for hadron accelerators
ST3 - ps & fs electron and photon beams
ST4 - Novel acceleration concepts
DESY is involved in sub-topics 1, 3 and 4 where it collaborates with other Helmholtz centers.