The Voss Wideröe Center for Acceleratos is a competence field inside PIER, the Partnership for Innovation, Education and Research between University Hamburg and DESY. It brings together accelerator scientists from DESY and the University Hamburg in the pursuit of accelerator research and development.

Gustav-Adolf 'Gus' Voss

Gustav-Adolf 'Gus' Voss was born 1929 in Berlin, Germany. Voss received his PhD in Physics in 1955 from the Technical university in berlin. He is a well known German accelerator physicist who spent his career at the Cambridge Electron Accelerator (CEA) in the US and at DESY in Germany. He invented the low beta insertions in storage rings in collaboration with Kenneth Robinson at Cambridge. Based on this invention it was possible to reach unprecedented luminosities (event rates) in numerous particle colliders. Without the high data rates from low beta insertions many discoveries in particle physics would not have been achievable. From 1973 onwards, he was for 21 years the DESY director for accelerators. Under his responsibility the PETRA and DORIS storage rings were designed and constructed. In retirement he supported the SESAME project in Jordan. In 1994 he received the Robert R. Wilson Prize of the American Physical Society. In 2010 he received the Tate Medal of the American Institute of Physics, honouring his support for East European particle physicists after the collapse of the Soviet Union, his contributions to the development of European accelerator science and his support for the SESAME project. His internationally oriented and effective working style shaped the accelerator division at DESY.

Rolf Wideröe

Rolf Wideröe was born on July 11th, 1902 in Oslo, Norway, and died on October 11th, 1996, in Nussbaumen, Switzerland. He was a well-known Norwegian electrical engineer and scientist. He received his engineering diploma from the Technical University Karlsruhe and his PhD from the Technical University Aachen, Germany. At Aachen, in the late 1920's, he demonstrated the linear accelerator with alternating high frequency voltage and also invented the betatron accelerator. His PhD thesis is one of the most cited publications in accelerator science and laid the basis for the development of accelerators, including the invention of the cyclotron, that earned Ernest Lawrence his nobel prize in 1939. Wideröe later also proposed the concept of storage rings and colliders. In 1932 he left Germany to return to Norway. His brother being imprisoned in Germany since 1942, Rolf Wideröe accepted in 1943 an offer from the German air force to return to Germany and to construct a betatron accelerator in Hamburg. After the second world war he worked for Brown, Boveri & Cie in Switzerland on betatron accelerators for medical applications, becoming a professor at the ETH in Zürich in 1962. He worked also as an adviser to CERN and DESY. Wideröe received honorary PhD's from the ETH Zürich and the Technical University Aachen, the 1969 Röntgen medal of the city of Remscheid and the 1992 Robert R. Wilson Prize of the American Physical Society. The Rolf Wideroe Prize of the EPS for outstanding work in the accelerator field with no age limit is named after him.